Suffolk Waste Partnership

Who We Are

The waste and recycling pages of this website are provided by the Suffolk Waste Partnership (SWP). The Suffolk Waste Partnership (SWP) is a strategic partnership of the county, district and borough councils, which works together to continuously improve waste management services throughout Suffolk. The SWP has created a Joint Municipal Waste Management Strategy 2003-2020 (The Strategy), which originally contained 17 policies that set out the strategic framework for the management of municipal waste across the county. The Strategy has recently been reviewed for 2013 and now contains 15 policies. You can view the original Strategy and the revised policies below:

The members of the SWP are:

• Babergh District Council
• East Suffolk Council
• Ipswich Borough Council
• Mid Suffolk District Council
• Suffolk County Council
• West Suffolk Council

Our Vision

The Strategy was developed by the SWP and formally adopted by all member authorities in October 2003.The preparation of the Strategy was underpinned with the following vision:

The Strategy seeks to minimise levels of waste generated and to manage waste in ways that are environmentally, economically and socially sustainable.

In delivering the Strategy, the Local Authorities will embrace the principles outlined in the National Waste Strategy and aim to recycle or compost at least 60% of municipal waste.

Our Progress

The SWP has been highly successful in the 10 years since the adoption of the Strategy. We have endeavoured to continually improve the waste services we provide and this has helped increase the annual amount of Suffolk’s household waste that is re-used, recycled or composted from 26.2% in 2003 to 52.4% in 2012.

This improvement is a huge achievement and testament to residents’ efforts and support. Although the SWP put systems in place, results like this have only been possible thanks to everybody’s participation and support. Your efforts have ensured Suffolk is regularly one of the highest recycling counties in England.